Ouborgprijs 2009

Justin Bennett

The Ouborg Award 2009 has been presented to Justin Bennett (1964), an off-beat sound artist who surprises the audience time and again with his fascinating compositions constructed of the everyday sounds of urban life.

The Ouborg Award, named after the artist Pieter Ouborg (1893-1956) from The Hague, is a municipal award for visual arts given every two years to an artist from The Hague, and consists of a sum of money (€ 10.000), an exhibition in the Gemeentemuseum Den Haag and a publication made by Stroom Den Haag.

Publication Justin Bennett, 'The City Amplified'
The publication The City Amplified gives an ample survey of Justin Bennett's versified work. Published by Stroom Den Haag and designed by Atelier Carvalho Bernau. Price: € 20,-.
More info click here.

Presentation Ouborg Award
31 October 2009, 5.30 pm
by Marieke Bolle, alderman for Finance and Culture
Location: Gemeentemuseum Den Haag

Exhibition Justin Bennett 'The City Amplified'
31 October 2009 thru 28 February 2010
Location and more information: Gemeentemuseum Den Haag

Jury Ouborg Award 2009:
- Heiner Holtappels (director Montevideo Time Based Arts Amsterdam, visual artist, teacher at Art Academy, Arnhem)
- Wim van Krimpen (former director Gemeentemuseum Den Haag)
- dr. Alied Ottevanger (independent art historian, who researches and writes about modern and contemporary art)
- Hans van der Pennen (visual artist, teacher at Academy Minerva, Groningen)
- Arno van Roosmalen (director Stroom Den Haag and chairman of the Ouborg Award jury).

Website Justin Bennett
Website BMB con.

More about the Ouborg Award

Justin Bennett, 'Shotgun Architecture', 2008, DVD with stereo sound
photo: Justin Bennett
B M B con., ‘Shhh1’ , 2009, 4 channel sound and photography
photo: Justin Bennett
Justin Bennett, ‘Sundial’, 2005-2009, DVD with 4 channel sound
photo: Justin Bennett
cover of the publication
Ouborg Award presentation
photo: Hans van der Pennen
Ouborg Award presentation
photo: Hans van der Pennen
Ouborg Award presentation
photo: Hans van der Pennen